Top 10 universities in Africa

If you decide to study in Africa, you will not be disappointed. Africa has world class universities that offer quality training that we will make you discover through this top 10.

According to the Times Higher Education World University Rankings, the top 10 universities in Africa come mainly from South Africa.

University of Pretoria (South Africa)

It is a world-class university that is among the largest producers of research in South Africa and Africa. It is unique because it is the only university in the country to have a highly recognized faculty of veterinary sciences in Africa.

Spread over 7 campuses, the University of Pretoria has more than 53,000 students, nine faculties (Economic and Management Sciences, Education, Engineering, Environment and Information Technology, Health Sciences, Human Sciences, Law, Natural Sciences and agricultural, Theology, Veterinary Science, Gordon Institute of Business Science) and a business school.

University of Cape Town (South Africa)

The University of Cape Town (UCT) has always been ranked first among the higher institutions of the Ivy League in Africa. It is the oldest university in South Africa and one of the main teaching and research institutions in Africa. It is divided into 7 groups and faculties (science, law, humanities, health sciences, commerce, higher education development center, engineering and environment).

Witwatersrand University, South Africa

The University of Witwatersrand is a remarkable university that stands out internationally for its excellent research, high academic standards and commitment to social justice. It has 5 faculties: science; business, law and management; engineering and environment, health sciences and humanities. University of Johannesburg, South Africa

The University of Johannesburg is spread over 4 campuses and divided into 8 faculties: business and economics; art, design and architecture; education; science; law; social science; Health Sciences ; engineering and environment.

University of Stellenbosch, South Africa

The University of Stellenbosch (also called Universiteit Stellenbosch) is one of the most important research universities in South Africa. Founded in 1866, Stellenbosch has the privilege of designing and manufacturing the first African microsatellite, SUNSAT, launched in 1999. The University of Stellenbosch has 10 faculties: agricultural sciences, social and artistic sciences, economic and management sciences, education, engineering , law, medicine and health sciences, military sciences, science, theology.

North West University, South Africa

The fields of study at the Northwest University are: economics and management; education; engineering ; Health Sciences ; social science ; law, natural and agricultural sciences, theology.

University of Western Cape, South Africa

The University of the Western Cape (UWC), is an urban university located in Belleville, Western Cape in South Africa. It was originally created for « black populations ». The university has a proud history of creative struggle and the triumph of the dark apartheid era. The UWC offers courses and programs leading to officially recognized higher education degrees, such as pre-bachelor’s degrees, bachelor’s, master’s and doctorate degrees in several fields of study: art, community sciences and health, dentistry, economics and management, education, law, natural sciences. University of Nairobi, Kenya

The University of Nairobi (UoN) provides courses and programs leading to officially recognized higher education degrees, such as pre-baccalaureate degrees (certificates, diplomas, associate or founder diplomas), license, master’s degrees and doctorates in several fields of study (agricultural and veterinary sciences, biological and physical sciences, architecture and engineering, education, health sciences, human and social sciences…)

University of KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa

The University of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN), a South African university officially accredited and recognized by the Department of Higher Education and Training, is a very large mixed higher education establishment (with a unit enrollment rate: 40,000 to 44,999 students). The University of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN) is organized around four colleges with schools (19 in total) that offer courses and programs leading to officially recognized higher education degrees. Such as bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral degrees in several fields of study (agriculture, engineering and science, health sciences, humanities, law and management).

University of Lagos, Nigeria

The University of Lagos or UNILAG currently has three campuses in Yaba and Surulere. While two of its campuses are located in Yaba (the main campus in Akoka and the newly created campus in the old school of radiography), its medical college is located in Idi-Araba, Surulere. From the modest number of 131 students in 1962, the number of university registrations has now grown to more than 40,000. UNILAG currently has twelve faculties: arts, basic medical sciences, business administration, clinical sciences, dental sciences, education, engineering, environmental sciences, law, pharmacy, science and social sciences. It also offers master’s and doctoral degrees in most of the above programs. The University’s Distance Education Institute (IED) offers courses in accounting, business administration, science education, and library / information science.